Three Bean Salad

Tonight, I wanted to make something my whole family could enjoy and benefit from. And with it still being summer, I wanted something light and refreshing.

Therefore, I made three bean salad and used it as a topping on regular salad!ย Well, I was preparing a salad when my mom came in from work with a Classic Salad (no dressing) from Panera, left over from work. So, I ended up eating that salad + the three bean salad because of the various greens and onions in it (we, unfortunately, had no onions in the house so I wasn’t able to add them into the three bean salad).

But nevertheless, I prepared some Romaine lettuce and chopped up some baby carrots, baby cucumbers, and tomatoes. I put each of them in their own dish so everyone could top their salads off as they pleased.

For the three bean salad, I made a slight variation to this recipe that I found through Google.

The Beans I used:

  1. 1 can of Black Beans
  2. 1 can of Pinto Beans
  3. 1 can of Garbanzo Beans (Chickpeas)

For the dressing, I used:

  • 3 tablespoons of Olive Oil
  • 5 tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 3 teaspoons of Honey (Grade A)
  • Dash of Salt
  • A little Black Pepper

Procedure:

  1. Combine all of the dressing ingredients into a large bowl and whisk to mix
  2. Empty all 3 cans of beans into a colander and rinse with cool water
  3. Pour beans into the large bowl containing the dressing and mix so that all the beans have made their way through the dressing
  4. Cover bowl with plastic wrap and chill in the refrigerator for 1 hour

When your beans are done chilling (and marinating) put your salad together however you please and top it off with a generous helping of your three bean salad! I made a little more dressing than what’s written in the recipe I found, and I am glad that I did because, both, my sister and I used it as dressing for our whole salad!

Leave a Reply

