What’s in Season–Fall Edition

It’s here, the best season for food–Fall! I love September/Fall seasonal foods. I originally found this on Facebook, like everything else, but just tracked it down through Google. Since I wrote so strongly about this topic last month, I am going to post what foods are in season at the beginning of every month.

Photo: Google Images
Squash, Pumpkin, and Apples!

Here are the seasonal foods for September:Β < Article Provided in the Link

  1. Apple
  2. Artichokes
  3. Blackberries
  4. Blueberries
  5. Broccoli
  6. Cabbage
  7. Cauliflower
  8. Carrots
  9. Chile peppers
  10. Cucumber
  11. Curly Kale
  12. Figs
  13. French Beans
  14. Garlic
  15. Horseradish
  16. Leeks
  17. Lettuce
  18. Mushrooms
  19. Nectarines
  20. New potatoes
  21. Peaches
  22. Pears
  23. Plums
  24. Pumpkins
  25. Red Onions
  26. Spinach
  27. Squash
  28. Sweet corn
  29. Tomatoes

I’m happy to realize that I bought a few things on this list earlier this week at the supermarket: apples, blueberries, carrots, cucumber, lettuce, plums, spinach, tomatoes, and recently I had bought and cooked with squash (Butternut Squash with Mixed Vegetables, Mushrooms, and Feta, which can be found under Topics-My Recipes)! I was also thrilled to find in the produce section, specifically over by the apples, bags-which I believe were 1/2 peck-of fresh New York apples! I got them, and they’re delicious. What’s so great is that these apples are from New York farms, and I live in New York; so for me, these are local apples! Local produce is so much better than the alternative. And I could tell just by looking at these apples. They were smaller than the apples provided by the grocery store (a good sign of no GMOs), had the same look and feel as freshly picked apples (you’ll know what I mean if you have ever been apple picking)-they are almost dirtier in look and feel than the grocery store apples, and tasted like freshly picked apples straight from the farm. I hope some of you can find similar things in your stores because it was really convenient and just plain awesome to see that. So, now you know what’s in season and can go explore with different colors and flavors! Enjoy and Happy (almost) Fall πŸ™‚ [I am counting down to September 22nd-the first official day of Fall]

Leave a Reply

