Squash Ravioli, Stuffed Tomatoes, and Roasted Potatoes

Tonight, I made probably the best meal I’ve ever made: Squash stuffed Ravioli, Tomatoes stuffed with Garlic Cheddar Cheese and Basil Pesto, and Roasted Potatoes, Pepper, and Oregano. I got everything at Indian Ladder Farms, where Chris and I went Apple Picking this afternoon; everything was all-natural, no preservatives, and delicious! The tomatoes and potatoes were grown from the farm and the rest was sold in their shop. Everything they have is great quality and wholesome, so it’s an extra treat to grab some food you can bring home-especially dinner ingredients-after apple picking.

It certainly wasn’t the lowest calorie dinner, but I went on a run this morning and we had a super long day on our feet, so I think of it as refueling πŸ™‚ And it was all wholesome, good quality, all-natural food, and that’s what is most important to me.

I prepared the tomatoes and potatoes first, because they needed to be baked for 30-45 minutes. Here is how I prepared them:

1. Tomatoes: Preheat oven to 375 (it is best to grease your pan with coconut oil)

  • Wash tomatoes and cut off the tops
  • Clean out the middle (the pulp and seeds) with a spoon and discard (or eat if you’d like)
  • Then, I put about a teaspoon of pesto into each tomato and coated the inside as best I could-sides and everything
  • Next, I added the cheese-I had a big block so I just cut it into small pieces until it filled the tomato (I used Garlic Cheddar cheese)
  • Last, I topped it off with another scoop of pesto
  • Bake in the oven for about 25-30 minutes (I read online 45 minutes but mine started to split around 25-30 minutes, so I took that to mean that they were done)

2. Potatoes: Can bake with tomatoes at 375; coat pan with coconut oil

  • Wash and cut potatoes into cubes or small pieces (Chris did this to help me out)
  • Scatter across pan
  • Season as you like (I used black pepper and oregano)
  • Bake for at least 45 minutes; or until you see the edges browning (I did 45 minutes, but they honestly could have gone longer if we wanted them to)
  • Toss in Olive Oil after roasting

And my final step was the ravioli and sauce. I bought both of these packaged, so I just cooked the ravioli in boiling water for 15 minutes and heated up the sauce. Again, the ravioli were Mini Squash Stuffed Ravioli and the sauce was Marinara Sauce from the Birkshires! Both were incredible.

This dinner had a lot of parts, but was actually very easy to put together and clean up. The ingredients were particular as well, but maybe it will inspire you to make something similar!

Leave a Reply

