Cocoa Powder!

Remember all that great info on cocoa? (If not, check it out in “Food and Drinks to Know About”) Well this weekend I bought Natural Unsweetened Cocoa powder at the grocery store to add to my protein shakes and meal shakes. I do not add sweetener because I love the taste of cocoa and only use 1 or 2 tablespoons. Moreover, I don’t really think you need it-especially if there’s other naturally sweet stuff in your shake.

Anyway, it’s great! I’ve never used straight cocoa powder before and was so happy that I finally bought it, because I have been thinking about it for months now. AND it’s only 10 calories per tablespoon–the wonderful taste of chocolate for only 10 or 20 calories? That’s awesome! For a post-workout meal, I like to make a shake from Natural Edge Meal Replacement (I have vanilla cause it’s good by itself and easy to alter, depending on what I want). Yesterday, I mixed 2 scoops of meal replacement, a little milk, water, some spinach, and two tablespoons of cocoa powder–it was delicious and perfect refueling after my run. So, if you like chocolate and have ever thought about incorporating cocoa powder to any selection of things (it’s great for so many drinks and foods and a better choice over other options because it’sĀ REAL), I highly recommend it! Give it a try and enjoy!

P.S. I know I never posted about the baked apples, but I DID make them and have pictures. I have been busy with school, but have a short holiday starting tomorrow afternoon, so I will come back and post sometime tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

