Pumpkin Soup Recipe

Tonight for dinner, I made Pumpkin Soup!! I searched the internet for a healthy recipe and had a lot of trouble. I didn’t want a recipe that called for heavy cream or a ton of other ingredients. Thankfully, I found one that I was confidently able to tweek to my liking. The recipe called for Chicken Broth, Pumpkin Puree, Onion and Garlic Powder, Thyme, and Milk. I intended on including the milk because it was only 1/2 Cup, but I ended up forgetting to put it in (haha, oops!). But the soup came out awesome! And I made a few changes. So if you’re looking for a healthy pumpkin recipe that doesn’t call for any milk or cream, here it is!

^ this is the Chicken Broth and Pumpkin Puree that I used for the soup. Here’s my Pumpkin Soup recipe:

  • 3 Cups of Chicken Broth
  • 2 Cups (or 1 can) of Pumpkin Puree
  • 1/4 teaspoon of Garlic Powder (can add Onion Powder, too!)
  • Chopped Onion (I just measured this by eye)
  • Salt and Pepper (I added a little salt because my broth was low sodium; if yours isn’t you probably won’t need it)
  • Pumpkin Pie Spice!! (my favorite ingredient–I did this to taste)

So, I chose (by accident) to not include any milk or cream in this recipe. Next time, I’d like to try it out with the milk but itΒ really isn’t necessary. I was so happy with how this turned out, and my roommates said it smelt amazing; one also tasted it and demanded the recipe at once! Of course that made me really happy πŸ™‚ To go with or without milk is 100% up to you, and I can assure you either way it will turn out good!

Procedure:

  1. Put Chicken Broth, Pumpkin Puree, Chopped Onion and Garlic Powder in pot and whisk together
  2. Bring to a boil, then lower heat and let simmer for 30 minutes
  3. Add Salt (optional), Pepper, and Pumpkin Pie Spice-all to taste-and whisk well into soup

*Note: If you choose to include the milk: Add 1/2 Cup of Milk into the soup after it has been brought to a boil, right before you let the soup simmer for 30 minutes.

All done! It came out great; I was so happy with it. And adding the pumpkin pie spice is what really topped it off, so please don’t skip that step! Hope you give my recipe a try and enjoy! I’ll be back soon with more Fall recipes! xoxo

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Soup Recipe

    • Yeah, a little is not bad at all-which is why I was going to go along with the milk, but just ended up forgetting! haha If you do, let me know how it turns out! I’d love to hear how it comes out

Leave a Reply

