Butternut Squash Chicken Stew with Quinoa

Hi all! I have an amazing crock-pot dish to share! Last weekend I was looking for something to make in my crock-pot. I wanted some kind of stew and came across an awesome recipe for Butternut Squash Chicken Stew with Quinoa on Pinterest. However, this was a stovetop stew; so I changed it around a bit-added a few things and cooked it in the crock-pot instead of on the stove. I also left a thing or two out and put in a thing or two that I liked better. It came out absolutely amazing. I would eat this for lunch and dinner every day if I could. It is so hearty, healthy, low calorie, and delicious. Here is the original recipe: Hearty Chicken Stew with Butternut Squash and Quinoa

And here is my version:

Preparation = about 45 Minutes, Cook Time= 4-6 Hours

Warning:Β My crock-pot was filled TO THE BRIM with this recipe. So be aware that it’s going to make a lot.

Yum!!

Ingredients:

  • 1 Butternut Squash (I bought 2 peeled halves at Hannaford’s-such a great find!)
  • 3 1/2 Cups of Broth (I used a mix of Low Sodium Vegetable and Low Sodium Chicken)
  • 1 1/2 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Thighs
  • 2/3 Cups of Quinoa
  • 1 medium chopped Onion
  • 14 oz. can of Diced Tomatoes–I doubled the Tomatoes because I love tomatoes in stew
  • 3 stalks of Celery–my addition
  • 1 Zucchini–my addition
  • 1 tablespoon of Coconut Oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon of Salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon of dried Oregano
  • Ground Pepper to taste
  • 1/4 Cup of minced Parsley
  • 4 clovesΒ OR 2 teaspoons of Minced Garlic–I used 2 teaspoons of minced Garlic

*The original recipe also called for Olives, but IΒ hate Olives so I left them out and added the Celery and Zucchini-which I think are 2 stew and soup staples! But feel free it incorporate them if you like, of course.

Procedure:

  • Preheat your crock-pot: mine has 3 settings-keep warm, low, and high; so I put mine on low while I got everything together
  • Add the broth to the crock-pot and let it warm up
  • Add all the spices (parsley, oregano, salt, pepper), the coconut oil, and garlic into the crock-pot and stir or whisk
  • Wash (and peel, if yours has skin) the butternut squash
  • Split the squash into 2 halves
  • Take one half of the squash, cut it into cubes, and warm it in a non-stick sprayed pan to soften it–this takes about 10 minutes. Make sure it is cooked/soft enough so you can mash it
  • Take the other half of your squash, cube it, and throw it in the crock-pot
  • Mash the first half of your squash until it is completely mashed up and smooth–Chris did this for me because he is clearly stronger and wanted to help; the perfect task for a willing guy!
  • When the squash is mashed, add it to the crock pot, then whisk together
  • Wash and cube your chicken, then add it to the crock-pot. *The original recipe shredded the chicken, but I HIGHLY recommend cutting it into cubes. It was the best chicken I’ve ever eaten; I would even add more chicken the next time I make this
  • Add the Diced Tomatoes
  • Add the Quinoa
  • Add the rest of your vegetables (onion, celery, zucchini)-washed and cut up
  • Mix and adjust your heat to HIGH
  • Let cook for 4-6 hours, whisking or stirring occasionally
  • Enjoy!!

3 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Chicken Stew with Quinoa

  1. Pingback: Hearty Fall Stew: Chicken and Squash with Quinoa | Running on Good

Leave a Reply

