How to Tame That Tummy

Today, while I was on Pinterest, I came across a great find! It’s a post from a blog, Hailey’s Helpful Hints, entitled Tame the Tum: Spare tire or stress bulge?

I have had personal experience with tummy confusions, and still do, so I was extremely excited to find this. I’ve had suspicions before and spoken to my mom about it, and I for sure have The Bloated Tummy. Now, since I am someone who has Hypothyroidism, it is probably best for me to avoid gluten. Or it’s at least a wise thing for me to explore. I’ve avoided gluten for days at a time but haven’t made that full blown commitment yet. But the more I see and read, the more I’m convinced that it is something I need to do and stick to. Just this weekend I was was at a local bookstore and skimming through The Herb Quarterly. Ironically, there was a a whole article on Hypothyroidism and foods that both help and hurt those with this condition. A few things I remember from the article are:

  • Thyroid Super Foods: Seaweed and Coconut Oil 
  • Thyroid Hurter: Gluten

Of course there is more to this subject, but these are just 3 main points I picked up while skimming. This past week I’ve committed to cooking solely with coconut oil, and the past two days I have been avoiding gluten. I’m thinking this week will be the beginning to my final commitment to permanently avoiding gluten.

I’ve suspected some kind of gluten intolerance in myself because of this excessive bloating I seem to always have. I don’t get “sick” from gluten, but I experience a lot of bloating, which is a sign of an intolerance. I plan on getting tested for a gluten intolerance in the near future, possibly next month. However, it could take several months of being gluten-free to see results.

Anyway, with all of this in mind, I came across this tummy post. I scrolled through looking at the pictures of the different bellies, how to identify a belly type, and the usual bad habits. And of course, I identified with the bloated tummy. I am very particular and careful with what I eat, so I know a “bad diet” is not to blame. What did catch my eye was,

TYPICAL BAD HABITS

You eat the same foods and may have done so for a lifetime without realising you’re intolerant to them.

MIDRIFF MAKEOVER PLAN

  • ‘The most common intolerances I see are wheat and gluten (bread, pasta, pastries, pizza, cakes and cereals), alcohol, yeast (in muffins, beer and pastries) and processed dairy (cheese, milk, butter),’ says James. ‘Gluten in particular can inflame the bowel and make the stomach look bigger.” (hailey’shelpfulhints)

This post was helpful to me because it was another angle and look at what might be causing the tummy troubles I have. I think this post is great, especially for women because they are typically tummy trouble victims. So what I plan to do from now on is: avoid gluten, take a probiotic every day, continue to eat yogurt every day, continue to keep my diet lean and clean, continue to exercise daily, practice deep breathing, and finally get a gluten test. I know I will have to be and remain patient throughout this exploration, but I am ready and excited to get to the bottom of this! I’ll be sure to report back.

Does this post help any of you? I’d love to hear what you have to say!

Leave a Reply

