Brazil Butt Lift and Being on a Budget

While I am in training for a race on March 17th, I added another challenge to my next 4 weeks: the Brazil Butt Lift. I started today because the schedules start on Monday and wow! That guy really kicked my butt (pun intended). I hope to get the same results as the success stories from this program because they look amazing! Only time will tell… But the big point of this is that I was interested in trying a fitness program from Beachbody but had one problem: I don’t have $100+ to spend on a fitness program. Luckily, one of my good friends happened to have the Brazil Butt Lift, and since she is the wonderful person that she is, she sent it to me. So thanks to her generosity, I am giving the program a try. (Thank you, Allie!! You’re the best) After my repeated “thank you”s, she says to me, “Fitness is not a joke.” (haha!)

Anyway, this got me thinking today of how much you can do on a budget with the help of good friends. This can be sharing workout programs, magazines, books, recipes, dvds, eating plans, training plans, anything. So I thought up some ways you can create some sort of system with friends, siblings, co-workers-pretty much anyone with similar interests (in this case health and fitness).

  1. Fitness/Workout Programs & DVDsThe Problem: while these are great for at home fitness and getting you to do some moves you may not have otherwise thought to do, they are expensive. There are many that are incredibly affordable, don’t get me wrong, but the ones with the biggest expectations (P90x, Brazil Butt Lift, Insanity, etc.) are the ones that cost the big bucks. And yes, it’s because you get a lot for your money, can use it over and over again, and get amazing results. But the sad part is, not everyone has the money for these things. The Solution: Find a buddy! Share! Get in touch with a friend and work out a system. For example, there’s 2 amazing workouts you would love to try (as would your friend) or you want total body results, so one type of program may not get you what you want. Work it out with a pairing system. One of you can buy one program or DVD and the other one can buy a second. Each of you do the one you bought, then swap. Tada! You both can get greater results and do 2 fitness program or 2 different types of programs for the price of one. Maybe you want to splurge for the Insanity or P90x set-split the cost and do it together! Not only does this save you money, but it gives you someone that’s experiencing the same challenges as you. Help and motivate one another! I know if Allie ever wants to borrow my Yoga DVD or whatever I may purchase next, you can guarantee it’s got her name written all over it! I think sharing fitness DVDs is a great idea, and you should give it a try!
  2. Recipes/CookbooksThe Problem: While the internet is truly amazing and you can find almost anything on it, it doesn’t always get the job done. Or it makes the job a bit more complicated and drawn out. I love finding recipes online and saving them, but sometimes there’s nothing like an amazing cookbook. It’s all right there! And so organized and pretty. But cookbooks can be expensive, so you can’t go out and buy 3 or 4 at a time. The Solution: Use your local library! Over the past few months, I’ve been spending a lot more time at my local library over Barnes & Noble. And let me tell you, I have been amazed with what I find in there. A library card may be the most underrated card of today. If you don’t have one, go get one! First of all, you can read whatever book you want for free, and second of all, there’s so much to benefit from at the library! You can read magazines, various types of books, rent DVDs, read newspapers, and more I’m sure. See if your local library has any good cookbooks that interest you. If so, check them out, give some recipes a try, and write them down! Find one and love it? Or want to save it for another time? Fine! Take out some notecards, or better yet, go buy yourself a blank book so that you can make your own cookbook! Input recipes from library cookbooks, magazines, blogs (hint hint), websites, family members, friends, anything! Before you know it, you’ll have an abundance of recipes and your own cookbook for a very low price.
  3. MagazinesThe Problem: Magazines are great, and I love them. But let’s face it, a subscription isn’t always what you want to spend your money on and buying them off the rack is crazy expensive. The Solution: Get a subscription buddy! You can do this one of two ways: (1) Split a subscription and share the magazines or (2) Each subscribe to a magazine, read, and swap! I like the second idea better, personally-you get more for your money! Grab a friend, sibling, co-worker or anyone else who has similar interests and pick 2 of your favorite magazines to subscribe to: Women’s Health, Men’s Health, SHAPE, SELF, Cooking Light, Health, Runner’s World, Natural Health, Rodale Grow, The Herb Companion, Fitness Magazine, Organic Lifestyle Magazine, whatever you like! However many friends you can get together, each subscribe to one magazine and organize a sharing/swapping schedule.

I think all these ideas are great and amazing ways to get so much for a little bit of money and connect with friends. Give one or all three a try!

2 thoughts on “Brazil Butt Lift and Being on a Budget

    • I like it very much! The bum bum video and tummy tuck are my favorites. I’m following the slim and shape program. But I like how it targets your entire lower region. My legs are still feeling it, at the start of my second week, and I’ve noticed an increase in my strength. It’s good stuff!

Leave a Reply

