A Full Day’s Meals: Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner

Dinner:

Chris and I made dinner last night! We made chicken and mushrooms, stuffed tomatoes, brown rice, and spinach. It was so good and super easy too. photo

For the chicken and mushrooms, I used this recipe from Taste of Home. I just searched around for a recipe on google until I found one that I liked. The brown rice was cooked as directed on the package, the spinach was sauteed in extra virgin olive oil and pesto from a local market on low heat, and the stuffed tomatoes were simply gutted and filled with a few ounces of white sharp cheddar cheese and pesto. I usually do a little spoonful of pesto, the cheese, and a bit more pesto on top. You can get creative with your tomatoes. You can mix the insides with the pesto and put it all in, layered with the cheese, add some seasonings, whatever you feel like doing! I really like the pesto and cheese, so I didn’t want to stuff more into the tomatoes. photo

Saute the spinach until it’s dark and wilted. Adding the pesto to the spinach was delicious, I highly recommend it. The chicken and mushrooms bake as directed in the recipe, and the tomatoes bake at 350 for at least 15-20 minutes. I didn’t time my tomatoes, I just kept an eye on them and waited for the cheese to melt and the skin to start peeling.

Breakfast:

For breakfast this morning I had a cup of Kashi Go Lean Crunch with Unsweetened Almond Milk and a cup of blueberries/strawberriesphoto

Yum!

Lunch:

For lunch I had a cup of three bean salad from the same market we bought our ingredients for dinner last night. Everything is homemade and so fresh! It’s great to take advantage of local markets.photo

I love three bean salad! I’ve made my own before and it is so easy! You can find the recipe in my older posts (my recipes). You can also google recipes and search around until you find one you like. I like using olive oil, apple cider vinegar, pinto beans, black beans, garbanzo beans, chopped onions, and chopped bell peppers. The recipes are really to get oil and vinegar measurements. Aside from that, you mix everything in a bowl and let it chill for at least an hour. I love tossing three bean salad into a real salad full of greens and other veggies. It’s a great way to get some protein in your salad and the oil and vinegar add great flavor so you can use little or no dressing. You can also have a small cup as a side to another dish. There are so many options. I paired this with a small banana and a few Stacy’s baked multigrain Pita chips.

Always remember you can make your food what you want it to be. Learn, explore, and get creative! 🙂

Leave a Reply

