Today’s Eats: Coconut Oatmeal, Avocado Protein Shake, and Egg Scramble

I’ve had a delicious day today, so far! I bought unsweetened coconut flakes this weekend and couldn’t wait to use them. Therefore, this morning I made coconut oatmeal!photo-004

I made my oatmeal with water, but used a little less than usual. I cook my oatmeal in the microwave because I don’t have good enough pots to do it on the stove, which is what I prefer to do. Anyway, I used water and cooked my oats for about a minute and a half. When it was done, I added 2 tablespoons of coconut flakes and about 3/4 cups of almond milk then reheated it for another 30 seconds. I topped it off with a sprinkle of stevia and was done! Paired with a banana and a cup of coffee, this made one delicious breakfast! The coconut and almond milk combination was delicious and tropical πŸ™‚

I went on a 6 mile run at noon and had a protein shake after my cool down stretching. I have been dying to try avocado in my smoothie or protein shake and finally did it today!

photoI made this with 1 cup of unsweetened almond coconut milk, 1 cup of almond milk, 1 scoop of 100% chocolate whey protein, 2 tablespoons of ground flaxseed, and 1/2 an avocado. I paired the shake with an apple and it served as my lunch. The avocado added creaminess to the shake and not so much taste, which worked out really well because I was able to taste my almond coconut milk and the chocolate protein verses avocado. So it was a delicious success!

After my class I needed a mid-afternoon snack, so I whipped up an egg white scramble with spring mix lettuce and seasonings. I also snacked on a few small black olives (I used to hate them but now I love them!).Β photo-002

I didn’t eat all these olives! I picked a few out and kept track as I ate them. This was a great light meal/snack. It was light but so tastey and nutritious πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

