Strength Training Tips and The Move to Look Good All Over!

After my 10k, I switched up my training plan to get fit and ready for summer. I now do running 4 days a week (Tues. Thurs. Sat. & Sun.), strength training 3 days a week (Mon. Wed. Fri.), and HIIT training 2 days a week (Mon. Wed. or Fri.-pick 2 for HIIT and 1 for walking).

I was reading on SELF, thanks to the Drop 10 Challenge, about strength training tips and here are 2 that I noted:

  1. To make your workout effective and burn the most calories at rest, it is best to eat carbs AND protein 20 minutes BEFORE your workout. Your pre-workout snack should be about 75% carbs and 25% protein. This can lead you to burn 9% more calories at rest.Β 
  2. Practice balancing moves, like Warrior II and Warrior III, twice a week in addition to toning for more effective results. I do balancing moves every single day in my stretching and include balancing moves in my strength training routine.

Strength training is really important because you need to strengthen your muscles in addition to burning fat. This enables you to build strength in strong muscles and a leaner physique. When your cardio burns fat and you start shedding pounds, you’ll have strong, toned muscle to show off! The two (cardio and strength training) balance each other out to give you a healthy, beautiful, and strong body.

I also like to do HIIT workouts on my strength training days because I’m a cardio junkie. I need cardio to feel good. My heart needs to be pumping for me to feel good about my workout, but I can’t run every single day because of my knees. HIIT workouts are great because they get your heart pumping, burn fat, and activate your muscles. HIIT workouts can be done outside or on the treadmill by alternating your speeds (jogging and sprinting) or you can probably find one online. I do the HIIT the Beach workout from my Beach Babe DVD by Tone It Up!Β (Here’s a Booty Bonus from Tone It Up!). Often times, I make up my own HIIT sequence.

Image

I love these girls and this workout so much. This DVD has 7 workouts on it, including a Long and Lean stretching routine that I do every day. The workouts sculpt, blast calories, and stretch you out. It is really an all-in-one DVD. And it’s only $30. The girls also have tons of Youtube videos and print outs (like the one above), so you can do their workouts for free! Check ’em out πŸ™‚ You’ll also learn some great moves that you can incorporate into a sequence of your own. It’s fun to get creative and mix things up.

But just incase you ever find yourself standing around aimlessly at the gym wondering what to do, this one move will certainly put an end to that!Β From SELF…the move that makes you look good all over!

Image

This move is pretty much an ultra burpee. And burpees are serious. They’re also known as squat-thrusts. No matter what you call it, this move is serious! This is a move that gets your heart rate up, blasts calories, and activates various muscle groups. So if you’re ever in a bind, tight for time, or don’t know what move to do, this move or your standard burpee is a great go-to!

*Runners — incorporate strength training into your weekly workouts and see your running improve!

Just get up and get movin’ πŸ™‚

Good food. Good tips. Good moves. Good for you.

xo Kim, Running on Good

Ladies, want to learn more about the specific strength training benefits for women? Check out this article by my blogging friend, Lindsay Dahl, to learn more!

2 thoughts on “Strength Training Tips and The Move to Look Good All Over!

Leave a Reply

