Healthy PB&J

Today for lunch I put a healthy spin on a classic sandwich–PB&J!

photo

This is all-natural Peanut Butter & Co. “Smooth Operator” peanut butter and organic apricot preserves on Ezekiel bread with an orange on the side.

Peanut Butter & Co. is a great all-natural peanut butter brand with a shop in NYC that I am dying to go to. They have tons of flavors and the few that I have had are all delicious. I got apricot preserves because apricots are such a great fruit, but I couldn’t bring myself to skip buying apples and oranges and sub apricots. So I got the preserves instead! The combination of the apricot and peanut butter was different, refreshing, and delicious. The two tastes blended so well together.

Ezekiel bread is sprout bread. It is a source of whole grains, is wheat free, a low glycemic index food, and has protein! This bread is much healthier than wheat bread, yes even whole wheat. Give it a try! I used to eat it a lot when my mom would buy it for my sister because of her allergies, but I had trouble finding it here at school. Thankfully, I found it at Trader Joe’s.

This is a great way to enjoy the comforting and classic PB&J, only healthier. And if you have allergies Ezekiel is a great bread choice, you can try different butters (almond, sunflower seed, cashew, etc.) and different jams or preserves (raspberry, blueberry, strawberry, etc.). There are so many options! Mix it up and enjoy πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Healthy PB&J

Leave a Reply

