The Perfect Recovery Green Smoothie

Today was a great day. I went on a 6.13 mile run and then made the most perfect recovery green smoothie!photo

This smoothie was so delicious, creamy, yet drinkable. It was perfect. I don’t have much else to say about it other than it was perfect, so here’s what’s in it:

  • Almond milk, about 2/3 cup (I use unsweetened, Trader Joe’s)
  • Coconut milk, about 2/3 cup (I use unsweetened, Trader Joe’s)
  • Water, about 1 cup
  • Spinach, about a big handful
  • Frozen Mango chunks, 2 handfuls (Trader Joe’s)
  • Golden Ground Flaxseed, 1 heaping tablespoon
  • Chocolate Protein (100% whey or whatever you like to use; no artificial ingredients!) 1 scoop
  • Avocado, 1/2

Note: I did not measure anything when I made this, which probably added to its perfection. It just happened. I tried to estimate everything as best I could. Although, this batch did fill up my entire blender; so it makes a lot. I would say do 1/2 to 2/3 cups of almond milk AND coconut milk each, then add in the water.

I added about 1/2 cup water early on and another 1/2 cup at the end. I blended everything together (minus the last 1/2 cup of water and avocado–honestly, I almost forgot the avocado), THEN added in the avocado and a little bit more water. I think these measurements should still do you good. The mango makes this VERY thick and creamy, so don’t skimp on the milk and water–you need it! But I would advise you to start with less and you can always add more.

To make all this mumbo-jumbo easier, go with 2/3 cup EACH of almond and coconut milk (unsweetened preferably) and 1/2 cup water. If you need more liquid, add more water.

I really hope some of you try out this smoothie because it was so good! It’s packed with a ton of protein and two green superfoods-spinach and avocado! Everything in it is good tasting and good for you 🙂 just like a green smoothie should be! PLUS, smoothies are great for on-the-go! Blend, pour into a to-go bottle, and you are on your way with a delicious and nutritious meal in tow! Smoothies can also be served for breakfast, lunch, or a treat! Keep them in mind, they’re great 🙂

Leave a Reply

