Easy Meals: Salads and My Favorite Egg Sandwich

The last two days I’ve had almost the same thing for both lunch and dinner. I like to do an egg white sandwich for lunch or a veggie burger. I workout after breakfast, so a good sandwich for lunch keeps me full and my hunger at bay for the rest of the day. My sandwich lately has been…photo

  • Egg Whites (cooked in a pan with oregano and baby spinach–not scrambled! Flipped around, but keeping it flat so it’s good for a sandwich)
  • 1 slice of Mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 Avocado
  • Organic Ketchup
  • 2 slices Ezekiel bread

Yesterday I also had tomato slices on it πŸ™‚ But with or without the tomato, this sandwich rocks. The Ezekiel bread, egg whites, and cheese give you fueling protein; spinach, oregano, and avocado all have great health benefits; and the tastes all come together so well–the cheese melts after being placed on the eggs, the avocado adds creaminess, and I love ketchup. I buy organic ketchup to avoid chemicals and unnecessary ingredients.

I always,Β alwaysΒ put spinach leaves in my eggs. ALWAYS. It’s a great way to get in some greens. I also always dress my eggs with oregano. Oregano has many healthy benefits (antifungal and antibacterial benefits, vitamin and nutrient boost, and antioxidant benefits, LIVESTRONG) and adds great flavor to eggs. Egg/egg white sandwiches are a great alternative to cold-cut sandwiches, a lunch staple. Kick the cold-cuts. They are loaded with preservatives and sodium. Use real, home-cooked meat if you want a chicken or turkey sandwich. Or try egg whites! πŸ™‚

I’ve been trying to make a habit of eating my bread during the day and not at night, so I’ve been having salads for dinner.photo_2

Salad #1 is

  • Romaine Lettuce and Spinach mix
  • Baby cucumbers
  • Roma Tomato
  • 2 thin cuts of Turkey (grilled)
  • Newman’s Own Lite Caesar dressing

photo_3

Salad #2 is

  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Roma Tomato
  • Baby Cucumber
  • 1/2 Avocado
  • Newman’s Own Lite Caesar Dressing

Both salads were very simple, but satisfying. I love having turkey, chicken, fish, or avocado in my salad, so I did one per salad. Salads are a great dinner option because you can easily load up on vegetables and sneak in some good protein. Salads are also refreshing when it’s so hot (and figure friendly as bathing suit season approaches–just be smart about what you put IN your salad)! Summer surely is around the corner πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

