Breakfast 3 Ways: Oatmeal, Pancakes, and Waffles

I LOVE breakfast. It may just be my favorite meal of the day. I usually always have slow cooking oats for breakfast. I mix 1/3 cup of slow-cooking oats and water, pop it in the microwave for 1 1/2 minutes, add 1 tablespoon of Earth Balance Peanut Coconut spread and a little almond milk. Sometimes I also add 1 tablespoon of golden ground flaxseed, 1 tablespoon of organic unsweetened coconut flakes, and/or a touch of stevia. I always, always eat a banana with my breakfast, and lately I’ve also been having 1 hard-boiled egg.Β IMG_1243

And on occasion, I have some pancakes or waffles πŸ™‚

IMG_1238These are Greek Yogurt Blueberry Pancakes: (my recipe)

  • 1 cup all-natural, organic, or whole wheat blueberry pancake mix (can also use regular and add the blueberries)
  • A splash of egg whites (I used all-natural egg whites from a carton, it would be about 1 egg white)
  • A bit of coconut milk or almond milk (about 1/4 cup)
  • 6 ounces of greek yogurt (I like to use vanilla)
  • About 1/2 cup water

~ All you have to do is whisk ingredients together and cook pancakes as normal! I top mine with 1 tablespoon of peanut butter and a sliced banana instead of butter and syrup. Way better and healthier!

IMG_1239These are Greek Yogurt Blueberry Waffles, and guess what? It’s the same recipe! All I did was make this in a waffle maker instead of flipping pancakes–so much easier and a way better clean up πŸ˜‰

I love creating a good pancake/waffle batter because you can switch the recipe up between the two breakfasts. You can also always add more stuff to your batter such as dark chocolate chips, golden ground flaxseed, orange zest (really good!), fresh squeezed orange juice, etc. Get creative! All you have to do is reach a good consistency, so if you’re adding something like ground flaxseed, you may need to add a little more liquid (maybe 1 more egg white and the slightest touch of milk or water; feel it out and use your best judgement). If you’re like me and prefer to get your run or workout done in the morning, it’s important to fuel up with a good breakfast that includes complex carbs, some protein, and a serving of fruit (bananas are the best pre-workout food!). Have a hearty, filling, delicious breakfast to fuel and prepare you for the day ahead. Don’t count your calories, count your nutrients!

Leave a Reply

