Banana Mugcake

Today was a super delicious day! I started off my morning with my first ever mug cake! I adapted the recipe from Tasty Health, who I follow on Instagram (check her out!). I’ve been wanting to try one of her mug cake recipes for a while, and this morning I settled on a banana mug cake. I altered the original recipe, and it turned out great! And look how gorgeous it is…

photo

The original recipe is:

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • About 2/3 banana or applesauce (I’d say about 1/3 cup)
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp granulated sweetener
  • 2 tbsp milk of choice

My Recipe: (what I used for the mug cake shown above)

  • 1/2 cup slow cooking oats
  • 2/3 sliced banana
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tbsp coconut manna
  • 1 tbsp PB2
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • few drops of organic liquid stevia
  • 2 tbsp almond milk

My Topping:

  • Strawberry Banana Greek Yogurt (I used 1 Chobani Champions Tube)
  • sliced banana (remaining 1/3 from earlier)

Procedure:

  1. Mix all ingredients together and blend with a hand blender OR blend ingredients together in NutriBullet, blender, or other blending device
  2. Pour batter into a greased mug
  3. Microwave for 1.5-2 mins (I did 1.5 minutes and then 10 second intervals until it looked done)
  4. Flip mug cake onto plate and top as desired!

YUM! Now you can have your cake and eat it, too… for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

