Healthy Rice and Beans

The past two nights, I’ve had rice and beans with a vegetable for dinner. I love mexican food, so I decided to make it at home this week. The first night I had a mix of organic black beans and organic pinto beans in a corn tortilla with organic salsa and a side of baby carrots. The following two nights, I had rice and beans with a vegetable.

On night one of rice and beans, all I had to do was cook the rice. I had leftover organic mixed vegetables in the refrigerator and leftover beans from the night before.

  • Cook 1/4 or 1/3 cup of basmati rice (depending on your caloric needs)
  • Mix with 1/2 cup of black bean/pinto bean mix
  • Mix in vegetables or have on the side
  • Mix rice with beans when done cooking
  • Top and mix with 2-3 tablespoons of organic salsa

All of this takes less than 15 minutes. Quick, easy, healthy, and delicious.

On night two of rice and beans, I cooked my rice and threw in a handful of baby spinach for the last 2 minutes of cooking. When the spinach looked cooked and wilted, I added the rice and spinach mixture to my 1/2 cup of beans and topped with salsa. This one was my favorite. I love cooked spinach. I usually steam my spinach, but since I was already cooking my rice, I decided to make my night a little easier by knocking the two out at the same time. The spinach does not need much time to cook, so just throw it in when the rice is just about done.

I still have some beans left over, that I will probably finish today. That’s 4 meals made from 2 cans of beans. I love mixing my beans because you get a variety of nutrients, and the mixture gives you more food for more meals. I also got to have mexican 4 times without having to go spend money on take-out. And it was organic! I saved money and my health by cooking at home, and you can, too.

Leave a Reply

