Steamed Mushrooms and Zucchini

After having a meal-sized snack this afternoon, I toned it down with a very light dinner. It was simple, tasty, nutritious, and quick. It was steamed mushrooms and zucchini (organic–zucchini is one of the “dirty dozen”, high GMO foods) with minced garlic and a drizzle of Bolthouse Farms Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing.

photo

I simply steamed the mushrooms and zucchini together in a steamer along with the minced garlic and waited for them to be a consistency that I liked. When it was on my plate I drizzled on a touch of dressing and that was it! You could add a tiny pinch of salt and pepper or any other seasoning that you like and think would work well. I chose not to because I had a little salt on my popcorn earlier and decided the dressing and garlic was enough flavor for me. But you decide! You may choose to drizzle on some olive oil, instead. If so, you can sprinkle on some salt, pepper, and maybe some onion powder or red pepper flakes.

A mushroom and zucchini base is a great thing to work with in the kitchen because the flavors are very mild, therefore you make the flavor with what you choose to add. Decide on a flavor scheme and give it a go! I go very light and simple with my dishes, you may need a little more flavor and that’s absolutely fine. Don’t be afraid to test some flavors out. Just be wise: start out with a little and use flavors you are familiar with and trust. You can use this dish as a small, light meal like I did, or you can make it a side dish to a protein-rich food like baked chicken. It is very versatile!

Leave a Reply

