Hearty Fall Stew: Chicken and Squash with Quinoa

Today I made a stew that I made around this time last year, Butternut Squash Chicken Stew with Quinoa. But this time, I did a few things differently. I also added more zucchini, so I decided to call it Chicken and Squash Stew with Quinoa, instead!

Here is the link to my original post: Butternut Squash Chicken Stew. My first time around, I followed another recipe I found very closely. This time around, I made it more my own.

photo

I kept most of the ingredients the same with the exception of using coconut oil rather than olive oil, using more celery and zucchini, not mashing the butternut squash, and using a very large can of crushed tomatoes rather than diced.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Butternut Squash OR 2 packaged halves OR a package of cubed butternut squash
  • 3.5-4 cups of broth (up to you; you can mix chicken and vegetable or choose one)
  • Boneless, skinless chicken thighs OR breasts (You can really put in as much as you want; I like a lot of chicken in here because it is so delicious! Do anywhere from 1.5-3 chicken thighs or breasts)
  • 2/3 c Quinoa
  • 1 medium chopped yellow onion
  • 1 large (I mean the jumbo kind) can of diced or crushed tomatoes
  • 5 stalks of celery
  • 2 medium zucchini (or 1 zucchini/green squash and 1 yellow)
  • 1 tablespoon of coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • ground pepper to taste
  • 1/4 c minced parsley
  • 1.5 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 tsp minced garlic OR 4 cloves

Procedure:

  1. Warm up crock pot and add in broth
  2. Add in oil, garlic, salt, pepper, and seasonings; stir
  3. Add in tomatoes, stir
  4. Add in Quinoa, stir
  5. You have 2 options for the butternut squash: (1) cube half the squash and toss it in the pot while you heat up the other half of cubed squash on a pan for about 10 minutes or enough so that you can mash it; add mash to the pot and stir or whisk; (2) cube all the butternut squash and add it to the pot
  6. Cut, dice, cube all the remaining squash (green/zucchini and yellow), celery, and onion; add it all to the pot; stir
  7. Cut the chicken into chunks and add to the pot; stir
  8. Cook on Warm for 6 hours

*Your prep should take you anywhere from 45 mins-1 hour–I know, long time. But it is so worth it! Let it cook for 6 hours and dig in!

One thought on “Hearty Fall Stew: Chicken and Squash with Quinoa

  1. Pingback: Chicken and Vegetable Stew with Mushrooms and Quinoa | Running on Good

Leave a Reply

