Crockpot Pumpkin Pudding

The other day I made a wonderful, hot, perfect-for-fall dish: Crockpot Pumpkin Pudding! I came across the recipe/idea on the instagram of Tone It Up!Β To see the original recipe, follow the link.

photo

I decided to modify the recipe slightly, so this is my version of the recipe:

  • 1 cup of quinoa OR a 1 cup mix of quinoa and steel cut oats
  • 2 cups your choice of milk; I used unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 3 tbs organic sugar
  • 1 tbs coconut oil
  • 1 tbs cinnamon
  • 1 tbs pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp sea salt

I didn’t have enough quinoa for 1 cup, so I did 1/4 c quinoa and 3/4 c steel cut oats. I also felt like the recipe called for too much salt, 1/5 tsp. I tasted the salt too much in mine, so I reduced it to 1 tsp for my version of the recipe.

Procedure:

  1. Set your crockpot on low
  2. Add the coconut oil and let it melt
  3. Add in the rest of your ingredients and whisk together until well incorporated
  4. Allow to cook for 4 hours
  5. Serve and enjoy!

You can top this with whatever you like: a nut butter, more cinnamon, maple syrup, honey, nuts, seeds, granola, greek yogurt; you decide! I had mine with a little pure maple syrup because it was too salty with the 1.5 tsp of salt, but I still enjoyed it!

*This makes 6 servings according to the original post, but I don’t know what measure counts as 1 serving. I eyed it and did a rough calorie estimate of about 130 calories per serving.

This dish stays well in a sealed container for 3 days in the refrigerator. You can enjoy this dish at ANY time of day: breakfast, lunch, dinner, or snack! I actually ate this for dinner while I was at work (with a side of veggies of course). I ate it cold and topped it with yogurt. So delicious! Tastes like dessert for dinner, while still being nutritious. Hope you try it out and enjoy!

photo

Yummm!!

Leave a Reply

