Superfood Oatmeal

This is my ultimate superfood oatmeal that I have been having for breakfast every morning for weeks now. I am so in love with it. This oatmeal keeps me satisfied, tastes great, and is so nutritious. It doesn’t break the calorie bank either. Here it is:

☀ 1/3 cup organic rolled oats
☀ 1 tbsp almond butter
☀ 2 tsp wheat germ
☀ 1 tsp chia seeds
☀ 1tsp organic cacao powder OR 2 tsp ground flaxseed
☀ 1 tsp organic coconut oil
☀ A dash of milk, grass-fed whole or unsweetened almond is what I use
☀ 1 tsp organic pure cane sugar
☀ Cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice to taste

I enjoy this with a banana, coffee, and water of course! It seems like a lot, but it’s a little bit of a lot of great things. I alternate between the cacao and the flaxseed because flaxseeds are mostly polyunsaturated fat, so our bodies only need a little! Therefore, I don’t have flaxseed every day. So on the days I skip it, I use the cacao. Both supply health benefits and great taste.

This breakfast is very balanced, supplying beneficial carbs, healthy fats (monounsaturated, saturated, and sometimes a touch of polyunsaturated), and protein (from the almond butter and whole milk). There are also various vitamins and minerals from the combination of foods. This balance and range of nutrients is what helps keep me so satisfied from this meal; my body is receiving what it needs, therefore my hunger is kept at bay for hours.

What more could you ask for from your breakfast? I’m not sure! I love it, and I hope you do, too.

20131108-233649.jpg

Leave a Reply

