Coconut Oil Coffee!

Cutting back on sweetener, especially in coffee, can be tricky. But I’ve done it with the help of the superfood that is now everywhere — coconut oil. I usually use liquid/organic stevia or organic coconut palm sugar to add a little sweetness to my cup of joe, but I’ve recently been looking for something that would enable me to enjoy my coffee without sweetening it. Enter coconut oil (or coconut ghee).

I’ve seen a lot of people adding butter and coconut oil to their coffee via every kind of social media. The coconut oil has always intrigued me. So last night I researched how to do it properly, and I learned that the secret is to blend it. I tried it this morning and am officially hooked. The coffee becomes frothy on top, just like a latte, and is surprisingly delicious with only 3 wholesome ingredients.

  1. Your preferred brewed coffee
  2. Organic milk or non-dairy milk
  3. Coconut oil

This morning I became my own barista (bonus: saving money and being crafty makes for an accomplished morning) and here is how I did it…

IMG_2425

My ingredients:
1. Coffee (preferably organic/fair-trade)
2. Silk Unsweetened Silk Almond Milk or other milk of choice
3. Organic cold-pressed Coconut Oil

Process:
1. Brew coffee to desired strength
2. Pour hot coffee into a blender or magic bullet type blender
3. Add desired amount of milk
4. Add about 1 heaping tsp of coconut oil
5. Blend for 30-40 seconds, pour into a mug and enjoy!

photo

I didn’t really measure the coconut oil. It was probably between 1 tsp – 1 tbsp. I just judged it by eye. Use your best judgement; you won’t screw it up. I hope you love this as much as I do because I am downright addicted. I don’t think regular coffee is going to cut it anymore. I like to alternate between plain coconut oil or coconut ghee for this frothy cup of deliciousness and my old standard cup of coffee + stevia/coconut palm sugar + organic whole milk/half & half. I like to mix things up. Also, if I’m incorporating coconut oil or coconut ghee into my diet that day in one or two ways, I’ll skip the coconut oil/ghee coffee. We can have it all, just not all at once! No need to go overboard. Mix it up; variety is the spice of life!

Good food. Good tips. Good moves. Good for you.

xo Kim, Running on Good

5 thoughts on “Coconut Oil Coffee!

  1. Pingback: Have Your Chocolate and Eat It, Too: Easy, Homemade Dark Chocolate | Running on Good

  2. Pingback: bulletproof coffee

Leave a Reply

