Veggie Inspired Meals

I always like to have one meal a day that’s largely built around vegetables. Most of the time it ends up being dinner, but it could also be lunch. One of these meals is lighter than the other and really could be a mid-day snack, while the other is more complete for a dinner.

Meal 1: Scrambled Eggs with Broccoli, Tomato, and Basil

IMG_2718

If you’ve never added fresh basil leaves to your scrambled eggs, I highly suggest it. It is delicious! I just scrambled 2 eggs as I normally would, in a pan with coconut oil and added the fresh broccoli, cut tomato, and basil leaves. Heat, scramble, and serve! After cooking I dressed this with a touch of Italian herb olive oil. Yum!

Meal 2: Green Salad with Roasted PotatoesΒ 

IMG_2735

For this salad, I incorporated leftover roasted veggies from the night prior. The salad is organic baby spinach leaves, leftover roasted brussels sprouts and broccoli, organic cucumber, and organic grape tomatoes drizzled with Italian herb olive oil and organic balsamic vinegar. The potatoes were diced and roasted with coconut oil, salt, pepper, and oregano. And my wine is Yellowtail Merlot, although I prefer Pinot Noir πŸ™‚ It’s very good though!

I love mixing vegetables together because it makes them less boring. I love vegetables, but sometimes I’m not so excited to eat them. Roasting vegetables is a favorite way of preparing them for me and mixing leftover roasted veggies into a salad is one of my new favorite things to do. Produce is the key to health. By getting in your fresh fruits and vegetables you are doing something very smart for your body!

If you like this post, please ‘Follow’ Running on Good to receive notifications about future posts.

Leave a Reply

