Homemade Dark Chocolate

I love chocolate. And lately I’ve been trying to be more creative in the kitchen, wanting to create more recipes and make things at home that I usually buy at the store. Putting two and two together, I decided to make some homemade chocolate. It was a beautiful success. I was nervous about the taste, particularly if it would be too bitter but was pleasantly surprised at how great it tasted and how easy it was to make.

The best part? It is cheaper than buying chocolate at the store. The ingredients I used to make my chocolate are things I always have in my house, two of which I have had for months and probably will continue to have in the months to come. How is using multiple ingredients cheaper than buying 1 chocolate bar at the store? You don’t have to keep purchasing these ingredients as often as you would be buying those bars of chocolate.

To make my chocolate, I used:

  • Raw Honey
  • Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil
  • Organic Raw Cacao Powder
  • Real Salt

Additions:

  • Organic Raw Almond Butter
  • Organic Coconut Flakes, finely shredded

Procedure:

  1. Melt 2 tbsp coconut oil and 1 heaping tbsp raw honey in a small glass bowl sitting in hot water, stirring occasionally
  2. Remove dish from water when the oil and honey are completely melted and formed a liquid mixture. Add a pinch of Real Salt, 4 tbsp raw cacao powder, and stir with a fork–almost like whisking an egg
  3. Ready to freeze when smooth

I froze half of my chocolate for 10 minutes in a small Pyrex dish, then added some almond butter, topped it off with the remaining chocolate, sprinkled on coconut flakes and froze for another 30 minutes to make an almond butter cup.

I would recommend lining whatever you pour your chocolate into with wax paper, unless you are using a chocolate mold. Using a chocolate mold, simply pour your chocolate into the mold sections and freeze like an ice tray. Allow the chocolate to freeze for 30 minutes before removing and eating. You could also double or triple the recipe, top however you like, and use a pan lined with wax paper to freeze the chocolate. Then cut it into squares or bars. Get creative! I plan on using a chocolate moldย more often for perfectly sized servings.

The chocolate is incredibly creamy and almost fudgy with an amazing dark chocolate taste from the cacao powder. This is the perfect treat or snack, especially when balanced out with nuts or a nut butter. I hope you try out this chocolate recipe. Let me know ๐Ÿ™‚

For tips on how to save money with this recipe and these ingredients, continue reading below.ย 

20140114-111906.jpg

On the ingredients:ย I always have coconut oil in the house. That is something that I buy every few weeks, depending on how fast I go through it because I use it for multiple things: in recipes, coffee, and as a non-stick tool in cooking. Wait…coffee? Yes, that was not a typo! In fact, I’m quite addicted to coconut oil coffee. I can no longer make coffee any other way. If you want to try my coconut oil coffee,ย click hereย for the recipe!

As for the other ingredients: the honey, the cacao powder, and the salt… these things will last you months. I purchased my cacao powder and the salt at the same time back in September. It’s now January, meaning I haven’t had to buy salt or cacao powder in 4 months! That’s music to my money-saving ears. The raw honey I actually just purchased. However, it doesn’t spoil and there’s no way I am making it through an entire jar in less than 4 months unless I do some big-time baking and use a ton in one shot. Not likely. So, I have 3 out of my 4 ingredients for the next few months without having to repurchase. I would much rather buy 3 ingredients that are going to last me 6 months than repeatedly buy chocolate bars at the store for $2-3 a pop. That adds up! That’s roughly $12 a month and $144 a year spent on chocolate bars. No, thank you.ย Plus, you can use these ingredients for so many other things.ย Salt and honey are so versatile in cooking and baking, and cacao powder can be used to spice up your oatmeal, smoothies, pancakes, yogurt, and baked goods. Money well spent.

I use an online shopping tool,ย iHerbย to buy my more expensive things.ย iHerbย always gives you a lower price than the store and shipping is free if you spend $40, which I always do. I use this to bulk up on staples: superfoods, cacao, honey, salt, coffee, among other things.ย Bonus: I can help you save $10! Use the code: CRK955 at checkout and you will receive $10 off your first order.ย Explore the site and see if it could be useful to you.

I really hope you give this recipe a try and come to enjoy making more home-made goods. I, too, am in the process of exploring my kitchen and the world of possibilities that it holds. If you like this post and want to be notified about up-coming posts, please ‘Follow’ Running on Good ๐Ÿ™‚

Good food. Good tips. Good moves. Good for you.

xo Kim, Running on Good ๐Ÿ™‚

If you enjoyed this post, you might also enjoy these deliciously related posts from my blogging friends:

  1. Coconut Maple Freezer Fudge from Cheerfully Imperfect
  2. Primal Chocolate Coconut Amaze-balls by Cheerfully Imperfect
  3. Superfood Cacao from Ribas with Love

 

4 thoughts on “Homemade Dark Chocolate

  1. Pingback: Almond Butter Sandwich Cups | Cheerfully Imperfect

  2. Pingback: Favorite Posts for the Month of April 2014 โ€ข Mind Body Oasis

Leave a Reply

