Overnight Chia Oats

Breakfast may just be my favorite meal of the day. I really love dinner, but I have to work on creating some different recipes. The same could be said for my breakfast, but I like what I like. I usually have oatmeal for breakfast with chia seeds, golden ground flaxseed, nut butter, coconut flakes, a splash of unsweetened almond milk, cinnamon, and banana. I also love a good quality granola with yogurt and fruit. Basically, I love oats and fruit. Upon my Instagram grazing a few months back, I kept seeing overnight oats. Overnight oats is almost like a chilled oat pudding. I’ve also seen chia pudding. They’re essentially the same idea, one with oats and one with chia. I combined the two ideas and made overnight chia oats. It’s quick, easy, and waiting for you in the morning. This would make a great summer breakfast because it’s so cool and refreshing. You can play up the flavors however you like, making it fruity, nutty, or whatever else you’re feeling! I make mine nutty and sweet with nut butter and banana 🙂

IMG_2854

This is how I made my Overnight Chia Oats:

  • 1/3 c organic rolled oats
  • 1 tbs chia seeds
  • 1 tbs golden ground flaxseed
  • Cinnamon

~ Put all dry ingredients in a jar with a lid and give them a little swirl/shake to mix everything up

  • Option 1: add about 1/3 c unsweetened almond milk or any milk of your choice. You just need enough milk to cover the dry ingredients
  • Option 2: add 1/4 c unsweetened almond milk and a little yogurt. Again, just enough to cover your dry ingredients
  • Give everything a very gentle stir with a spoon

~ I did option 1 for the above picture, but I think tonight I’m going to try option 2 🙂

  • Chill in the fridge overnight
  • Wake up and top however you like! No need to stir in the morning

~ I topped this one with organic raw almond butter and sliced banana. Tonight I’m going with option 2 and adding sunflower seeds to my topping. I’m excited to see how it comes out! Option 2 would also be a great way to go if you plan on adding lots of fruit in the morning. I think the nut butter adds a nice amount of thickness to the milk option, whereas yogurt gives it a creamy thickness that would pair nicely with a medley of fruit. Let me know if you try out this breakfast and post your pictures to Instagram using #runningongood. I’d love to see what you come up with!

P.S. If you like having an egg breakfast, this makes a great snack option! Prep and bring with you to school, work, or anywhere you can store it in the fridge until you’re ready for it! 

One thought on “Overnight Chia Oats

  1. Pingback: My Overnight Chia Oats with Blueberry | Running on Good

Leave a Reply

