Chicken and Vegetable Stew with Mushrooms and Quinoa

I looove stew. Like really, really love it. It’s been freezing here in New York for what feels like 6 months, so I was pretty pumped to get this stew in the crockpot and have a hot, healthy dinner. And then have leftovers. I don’t have to cook dinner tomorrow night? Sold! Although, I think this stew pretty much sells itself.

IMG_2935

I went off the recipe for my Chicken and Squash with Quinoa and made the following alterations:

  1. Omitted the butternut squash entirely because I had none
  2. Used 4 cups of organic low-sodium chicken broth + 1 regular sized can of organic tomato sauce for the broth (not a jumbo can of tomatoes)
  3. Added about 5 organic potatoes
  4. Added sliced mushrooms (I just broke them into pieces and threw them in, as many as I wanted)
  5. Added a ton of organic baby carrots (almost a whole bag)
  6. Omitted the parsley and oregano and seasoned this with Real Salt, cracked pepper, and dried basil

*Everything else is the same. I cooked it on high for about an hour and a half, then left it on low for another hour and a half.

Both versions are delicious. Stew is so awesome because you really don’t even need a recipe. You could easily throw something together with a broth/base + meat or beans + loads of vegetables + seasoning and you’ve got yourself a stew that, I guarantee you, will taste good. The chicken is out of this world. I’m sorry to the vegetarians and vegans out there but chicken out of the crockpot is just heavenly—tender, juicy, and so full of flavor. The crockpot is the best way to cook any meat, hands down. Organic/grass-fed/local/antibiotic-free meat, of course. πŸ˜‰

Give this stew a try! It’s as delicious as it is colorful, and what’s better than that? If you like this colorful picture and would like to see more, follow me on Instagram @runningongood [preview availableΒ to the left, to the left, everything you own in a box to the left <—- that, ironically, makes a little bit of sense] XOXO

Leave a Reply

