My Overnight Chia Oats with Blueberry

Anyone that knows me personally knows one thing about me—I love bananas. My blog really should be called Running on Bananas, but it doesn’t quite have that ring to it. Anyway, I have a banana every single morning. When we have two bunches in the house, I have two a day. I just love them. I remember back in the day many people were afraid of bananas because of the sugar and thought eating them would lead to weight gain. Um, no. Fruit does not make you fat. I’ve also heard the same thing said about carrots. CARROTS! Bananas and carrots made you gain weight? No. No, they didn’t. The sugar in fruits and vegetables is good sugar. Plus, fruits and veggies are so complex with fiber, vitamins, minerals, and carbohydrates that consuming sugar from fruits and vegetables will never, ever yield the negative effect of refined sugar. Never. Fruits and vegetables, especially carrots and bananas, give your body nutrients while refined sugar (the white stuff) robs your body of its nutrients. So, just to clear this up: refined sugar has 0 benefits and takes nutrients from your body, while fruits + veggies hold many nutrients and thus, yield great benefits. Good. Now that we’re all eating our carrots and bananas…

I decided this morning, “I’m going to save my banana and have it as a snack later.” It’s a good thing I did because I ended up having a second one in my smoothie even later on in the day. Two is fine. Three? Now I’m pushing it. And I only say that because I like to eat a variety of food throughout my day, especially when it comes to produce. A variety of food means a variety of nutrients. I’d rather have another type of fruit than stuff my face with bananas all day. Although, I would also love to do that. If I could have an endless supply of 2 things, they would most certainly be bananas and almond butter. Anyway… (sorry I’ve been rambling about bananas like a monkey), this led me to the blueberries! They probably didn’t need such a long introduction, but now you may feel like you know me just a little bit better πŸ™‚ . And here are those beautiful blueberries:

IMG_2955

I made my overnight chia oats slightly different than last time. I used:

  • 1/3 c organic rolled oats
  • 1 tbs chia seeds
  • 1 tbs organic coconut flakes
  • 1 tbs golden ground flaxseed meal
  • a little unsweetened almond milk
  • a few spoonfuls of grass-fed organic maple yogurt
  • a drop of pure vanilla extract
  • pumpkin pie spice

Gently stirred and popped in the fridge ’til morning. Then threw in some sunflower seeds and fresh blueberries in the morning. And I didn’t even miss my banana. Well, maybe a little. But this was delicious and I was happy to put a different spin on it.

Sometimes that’s all we need. Just one little tweak and bam! You’ve got yourself something new and exciting. In case you missed the first chia oats post, you can also have chia oats as a snack! Just chill and eat whenever it suits you. Hope you enjoy πŸ™‚ And remember, you can see this post and others instantly on Instagram by following me @runningongood. Tag me if you try out any of my foods, I’d love to see! XOXO

Leave a Reply

