Egg Muffins Recipe

The other night, I needed a quick and easy dinner. I tacked on a second workout before leaving work, so when I got home I wanted a no-fuss dinner. Lightbulb! Egg Muffins! Protein, vegetables, and a little coconut oil… perfect.

IMG_3097

This really worked out great. I mixed everything, threw it on the oven, took a shower, waited 10 more minutes and was then sitting down to dinner. No fussing, no 20 minutes cooking in the kitchen, and no grazing around while I starved. I got my shower done, into my PJs, dried my hair a little, and ding! dinner was done. Clearly, these are designed for breakfast, but I like to break the rules of being conventional. Food is food. Eat what is good and what works for you, who cares if it’s a “breakfast food” or “dinner food” or anything else.

You can serve these by themselves, with another vegetable, a side of brown rice/quinoa mixed with mushrooms or if you have kids, add some organic shredded mozzarella cheese into the mix and pair this with a fun smoothie like organic milk/peanut butter/frozen banana and you’ve got yourself a pretty cool dinner! These are super healthy and a time saver.

How to make:

  • Whisk 2 whole organic antibiotic free eggs in a large bowl (# of eggs typically yields # of muffins; I did 2 eggs and got 2 muffins)
  • Finely dice any vegetables you want (tomato, cucumber, broccoli, peppers, kale, spinach, onion, etc.) and add to the whisked eggs
  • Add flavor with organic minced garlic, Real Salt, pepper + any seasoning you enjoy (don’t be afraid of adding too much flavor; less is NOT more in this case)
  • Optional: add organic shredded cheese into the mix
  • Whisk and spoon into muffin tins greased with coconut oil (adds amazing flavor, too!)
  • Bake at 350 degrees F for at least 30 minutes (watch for edges to brown and test with a toothpick)

I drizzled a little organic ketchup on mine and enjoyed every bite. Hope you try these out on your busy mornings, afternoons, or nights! They’re great to play around with because you can truly add whatever you want. Explore, play with your food, and enjoy!

Good food. Good tips. Good moves. Good for you.

xo Kim, Running on Good

Is there an organic egg shortage? Read this article by my blogging friend, Lindsay Dahl, to learn more and find out what we can do about it! 

If you enjoyed this post, you may also enjoy this post for a delicious egg souffle by my blogging friend, Ribas with Love.

Leave a Reply

