My Juice Day Diary

Hi friends! So yesterday I did a little experiment and did 1 full day of consuming only liquids, mainly fresh juice. I did NOT do this as a liquid diet or anything like that. I did this to give my digestive system a little break so that my body could use the nutrients I was giving it to HEAL. Essentially, maximum absorption of what I was consuming so my body could use it to its highest potential. How does this make sense? Our bodies expend a ton of energy during digestion, and eating 4-5 small meals a day (as I do) adds up to a lot of digestion and expended energy. Therefore, giving your body fresh juice or something from the nutribullet = giving your body nutrients in an extracted, nutrient dense, easily digestible form. I did this only for one day because I believe I eat well enough that I did not need to go to an extreme of 7, 5, or even 3 days. Plus, I already have something from my nutribullet every single day and work to incorporate juices into my diet every so often on an empty stomach (I’ll replace a snack or small meal with a fresh juice). I’ve written a little more about juicing, the nutribullet, and smoothies before. You can read that post here.

IMG_3156

Now that it’s clear why I did this, let’s get into the how. I ordered 4 juices from a health cafe nearby, the Trailside Cafe, and made 2 protein drinks at home. I consumed only this + water. I did not hand-pick what went into my juices, I stuck to 3 that are always on the menu and 1 that I found on the Trailside Cafe Instagram account. Actually, these 4 juices are the exact juices they posted on Instagram as part of a full day of juice. The juices are: Green Machine, Sweet Potato Delight (orange), Cholesterol, and Foreigner (red). I should have taken a picture of the in-store menu so you could see what’s in them, but I didn’t. Cholesterol isn’t even on their menu, the owner has it written down and just made it for me. But, they do have the benefits of their on-menu juices posted on their website, here. I do know that the green juices include (but are not limited to) greens, lemon, and ginger. Sweet Potato Delight includes (but is not limited to) sweet potato, carrots, pear, and orange. Foreigner includes (but is not limited to) beet, green apple, carrot, and ginger. That’s the best I can tell you from memory, sorry! The point is though, I didn’t make a huge deal out of it. I got 4 beautifully colored juices with a wide range of nutrients. That’s all I wanted. I didn’t need to get nitty-gritty.

IMG_3157IMG_3161IMG_3152

^ Look at that gorgeous color!! I’m obsessed with the Sweet Potato Delight. It’s also really good when you add cucumber. I had it as is yesterday and couldn’t even wait til after I took a picture to drink it. So that ^ happened.

My 2 protein drinks, I made at home with my nutribullet. Here’s what I put in them:

Protein Drink #1

  • a handful of organic baby spinach
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tsp maca root powder
  • 1 scoop organic Perfect Fit protein
  • water to the max line

Protein Drink #2

  • 5 oz. plain greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp organic cacao powder
  • 1 tbs organic sunflower seeds
  • 1 spoonful raw almond butter
  • 3/4 scoop of organic Perfect Fit protein
  • water to the max line

My protein drinks were clutch for me. I’m following a 6-week lifting schedule from Women’s Health (lifting 4 times a week) plus additional exercise, so I did not want to have zero protein all day. I also didn’t want to have a headache all day and exclude certain nutrients from my diet, such as selenium, magnesium, vitamin E and of course protein. I know fruits and vegetables have a wide range of nutrients and that’s all well and good (hello, I’m drinking 4 of these babies all day), but I really wanted that selenium, magnesium, healthy fats, protein, and probiotics. They are important to me. So I made this day about me and what I wanted. After all, I am doing this for me and no one else. Therefore, I laid out my own goals and set my own rules. And guess what, I succeeded–I did it! The number one key to success is setting realistic, truly attainable, small goals that YOU feel confident in. And that’s exactly what I did. Now I am here, typing this post and feeling very proud of myself (and happy because I just had a solid breakfast and a cup of coffee). I feel fresh and alert.

If you’re wondering about the timeline of my day and how I felt at each point, here’s how it went:

8:30 am– Wake up and Protein Drink #1 (felt normal, like I always do when I wake up; P.S. I do not get headaches or any other symptoms of withdrawal when I do not have caffeine so that was easy for me)

9:30-10 am– Pick up juices and drink Juice #1, Green Machine (still feelin’ good, but it’s still early)

10:30-11:45 am– Vinyasa Flow Yoga (feeling great! Wasn’t thinking about eating at all. I was totally grounded in the moment and focused on my yoga)

12:00 pm– Juice #2, Sweet Potato Delight (starting to feel hungry, but not by my stomach. I was getting a very mild, light-headed type of hunger headache around this time)

1:45-2 pm– Protein Drink #2 (after Juice #2 and Protein Drink #2, I felt 100% better)

2-4:45 pm– Kept busy by getting a haircut and going to Barnes & Noble (felt good, not hungry. I did miss my coffee though. I enjoy my coffee so I missed it, I didn’t crave it)

5-5:45 pm– Juice #3, Cholesterol, while doing work at home (surprisingly, I felt totally satisfied. I kept myself busy and ended up drinking my juice over a period of almost 1 hour)

7:00-8:15 pm– Juice #4, Foreigner, while still doing work at home (clearly, I was at work and keeping my mind occupied. I was not focused on my stomach at all and still felt surprisingly satisfied)

10:30 pm– Bedtime! (felt very tired and a little hungry. For the first time all day, my stomach started to growl a little. Mid-day I felt it in my head more than anything else (protein drink to the rescue!), but before bed my stomach started going)

IMG_3160

Today I got out of bed around 8:30 am. I woke up to go to the bathroom twice, so that messed up my sleep cycle. I usually get up once before I really wake up for the day because I drink so much water during the day and at night. I take my Nature-Throid right before bed, so washing that down with at least 8 ounces of water usually calls for a nightly bathroom visit. I found it harder to get out of bed this morning, I could’ve went back to sleep but I said no and got up. I also reminded myself, “hello! you can go have breakfast and coffee now!” Afterwards, I felt great.

For breakfast I had:

1. Oatmeal

  • 1/4 c of organic rolled oats cooked in water
  • 1 tsp each of organic chia seeds, organic golden ground flaxseed, and organic cacao powder; 1 tbs organic peanut butter; a splash of almond milk; and a dash of organic stevia
  • mixed with banana chunks [from 1 medium, green tipped banana]

2. Water, 16 ounces with breakfast and another 16 after

3. a cup of coffee [with a little almond milk]

This was certainly an experience, and I am happy I did it. Most of all, I’m happy I set my mind to something and did it. I feel good, but don’t feel the need to ever do this for more than one day. Maybe I’ll change my mind in the future, but for right now I’m good. Off to the gym! XOXO

 

Leave a Reply

