How to Reach Your Goals by Summer

Hey everyone,

Most of you know that I am a big fan of Karena and Katrina of Tone It Up and all that they do. Yesterday, April 27th, launched the beginning of their annual Bikini Series, and I am somewhat taking part so I can reach a few important goals by June 21st, the first day of summer.

After following an 8 week training plan last year to prepare for my first 10k and a 6 week lifting program from Women’s Health, I sort fell in love with multi-week plans. While I don’t follow Karena and Katrina’s plans religiously, these girls are great leaders and motivators. They have tons of great workouts and recipes, plus they like to run!

IMG_0590

I wanted to share my goals with you and hopefully inspire some of you to make your own list of goals to achieve over the next 8 weeks. I picked very attainable goals with one of them being a bit more heavy than the others: securing a full-time job.

How to Reach Your Goals:

The key to achieving your goals is setting goals that are attainable and going after them one or a few at a time. Ideally, one at a time is best, but it depends on what your goals are and whether they are short-term or long-term goals. You can achieve short-term goals while still working towards a long-term goal, resulting in you achieving multiple goals!

That’s what I am doing. I have 5 goals to achieve over the next 8 weeks. There’s a mix in long-term/short-term and how I even go about achieving these goals. So I feel confident that by June 21st I can have all of these goals completed. Here are my goals to reach by June 21st:

BmUNZ_4IAAEy3qY

  • Reach 150 miles between running, swimming, biking and walking (it’s important to mix it up!)
  • Run 8 miles straight
  • Read 2 books ( I have had no time to read lately! But I want to make the time because it’s important to me)
  • Secure a full-time job
  • Take a trip (planning in the works)
  • Inspire someone

I had to think very carefully about what I wanted to my goals to be. I thought about where I want to be in a few months, how I can make that happen and what goals were really important to me right now. I thought about things I’ve never done before, things to keep me honest, and ways I can work in some enjoyment. And although the goal of finding a full-job is heavy and stressful, I’m motivated to make it happen. Another big factor in goal setting is to not feel overwhelmed.

How to Reach Your Goals:

It’s ideal for your goals to motivate you, not intimidate you. Don’t try to make all your dreams come true at once. That is incredibly overwhelming and very hard to accomplish. Take it day by day, goal by goal and you will find yourself accomplishing amazing things. A good place to start is by setting 2 short-term goals and 1 long-term goal, then working to achieve them. Your short-term time span can be anything from 1 week to 1 month, but plan it out first. Which is it going to be? I recommend short-term goals in a 1-4 week time span because that achievement is important. You will be reinforced by it. All those little goals will add up to a HUGE sense of pride and achievement. And if all your goals are related, those short-term goals will help you achieve your long-term goal. Before you know it, you will be one giant success! 

We have 8 weeks; we can do this! What will your goals be? If you want to take part, you can sign up for the Bikini Series and e-mails at Tone It Up. Use the hashtags: #100BySummer or #150BySummer (depening on your goal) and #CreateYourSummer to connect and follow other Tone It Up girls + Karena and Katrina! Partaking in a series like this, with such a big community, is the perfect way to stay motivated and honest so that you can achieve meaningful, attainable goals by summer.

How to Reach Your Goals:

Love the idea of a community + support but don’t think Tone It Up is for you? No problem! Come together with a group of friends or family members and you can create your own support group. Make a group on Facebook and post status updates, inspiration or just be there to talk and support one another. Or you can do the same thing through e-mail. Having a support group is a huge deal when it comes to achieving goals and once you experience the love and support of others, you’ll see how much of a difference it can make. 

The first day of summer is June 21st — more than a month away! There is plenty of time to achieve your goals and show yourself what you are capable of. Let’s get to it.

Good food. Good tips. Good moves. Find YOUR good.

xo Kim, Running on Good

If you enjoyed this post, you may enjoy the following posts by my blogging friends from around the web regarding balance, positivity and change. One of them may help you reach one of your personal goals!

  1. How to Think Positive in 10 Easy Steps by Mind Body Oasis
  2. Changing Our Relationship with Food by Lindsay Dahl
  3. 5 Ways to Find Healthy Balance as a Stay at Home Mom by Cheerfully Imperfect
Leave a Reply

