The Perfect Stir Fry Recipe

The Perfect Stir Fry Recipe

For the last two weeks, I have been repeating this perfect stir fry recipe over and over again because it is so good. You can mix it up however you like, but I believe I’ve assembled a medley of veggies that work really well together. There’s an array of color, texture, flavor and nutrients — all areas are covered. I have a few variations, so here’s how I’ve mixed up the perfect stir fry recipe.

IMG_3603

Before you say, “Is that a hot dog?” Yes. But it isn’t what you think. I used either an Applegate turkey hot dog or an Applegate chicken hot dog. I used the natural kind because that’s all my store carries, but they also offer organic. Applegate is an amazing brand with tons of products — hot dogs, deli meats, cheese, bacon, sausage, traditional italian meats, chicken strips, burgers, chicken nuggets, breakfast sausage and corn dogs. I might have forgotten a few. But they have tons of products that are typically very processed and bad for our bodies. Applegate products are uncured, natural, grass-fed, gluten-free, and/or organic. They are minimally processed, humanely raised and contain no antibiotics. They are also going no GMO. So if you are a meat and/or sandwich lover, Applegate is the brand for you. Just think — you can have bacon or sausage with your eggs for breakfast and not feel like you’re harming your body. You can eat these foods and feel good about it. I guarantee Applegate products are in your grocery store. Look in the packaged deli meat section for their sausage, bacon, hot dogs, meats and cheeses. Their other products are typically in the frozen food section (burgers and chicken strips/nuggets). Now back to this perfect stir fry recipe.

IMG_3583

I have a few ingredients that are key to this perfect stir fry recipe and others that make guest appearances. Without further ado,

My staple ingredients: [all organic]

  • Organic refined coconut oil
  • Yellow and green squash
  • Grape tomatoes
  • Carrots
  • Bell peppers — mix up the colors however you like
  • Applegate hot dog (chicken or turkey)
  • Simply Organic Grilling Chicken seasoning [amazing]

The honored guests: [all organic] I typically do 1 green from this list — the broccoli or the spinach

  • Broccoli florets
  • Spinach
  • Feta cheese
  • Black beans

Can we just look at how gorgeous this perfect stir fry recipe is?

IMG_3747

 

IMG_3754

Lately I’ve been really into the black bean and spinach combo. I suggest pairing the broccoli with the feta and the black beans with the spinach. For some reason, those combinations seem best to me. You do not need any sauce for this recipe at all. The coconut oil, meat from the hot dog, and the seasoning all come together to create this amazing flavor. It is truly delicious. And so simple. I walk in the door and am sitting down to eat within 30 minutes with this dish. While cooking, I’ll munch on celery or cucumber slices to keep me from grazing.

All you have to do is:

  1. Scoop about 1 tablespoon of coconut oil into your pan. I use an Orgreenic pan. And set it on medium low heat.
  2. Chop up your squash and carrots while oil melts down (and broccoli if you are using it)
  3. Make sure oil is covering pan and add squash and carrots carefully, try not to splatter on yourself
  4. Chop and dice peppers, tomatoes, and add them to the mix
  5. Stir occasionally to rotate veggies
  6. If using spinach, add 2 handfuls of spinach and wait for it to reduce down
  7. Add in any remaining ingredients: hot dog, black beans (or other beans), and seasoning
  8. Let heat for another 5 minutes, stirring occasionally
  9. After cooking for 15-20 minutes, remove from heat and serve
  10. Optional: top with feta cheese

That’s it! It is so simple. All you really have to do is chop, dice, and stir. It is ridiculously easy and so good. I always recommend putting your squash, carrots, and broccoli into your pan first because they will take the longest to cook through. Bell peppers are next, followed by spinach because it needs to reduce down. Everything else you can pretty much add towards the end because they won’t take as long to cook through. Once everything is in, give it 5-10 minutes and you’re good. I personally like my vegetables to still have some bite to them, so I don’t cook this for too long after everything is in. I usually wait for the tomatoes to soften and make sure the hot dog is in there for at least 3 minutes. Other than that, I don’t worry too much about it and it always comes out great. This is a great and enjoyable way to get in a lot of veggies and nutrients. There is such a variety of color and different types of vegetables. And what’s easier than getting them all in at once? This is by far my favorite dinner as of late because I enjoy making it and feel good about eating it. I hope you try it out and love it too! If so, let me know by using the hashtag, #runningongood, and tagging @runningongood on Instagram. I’d love to see your creations and know what you think!

Good food. Good tips. Good moves. Good for you.

xo Kim, Running on Good

If you enjoyed this post, you may also enjoy this post for Roasted Artichoke Spinach Dip from my blogging friend, Overthrow Martha

One thought on “The Perfect Stir Fry Recipe

  1. Pingback: Delicious Egg Soufflé

Leave a Reply

